Visit the Royal Regiment of Fusiliers Museum (Royal Warwickshire) which tells the story of 350 years of history of the County Regiment, from its raising in 1674 to the Fusiliers of today.
Greeted by a soldier of 1744 the story of the "Warwickshire Lads", from Private to Field Marshal, is revealed through an exciting mixture of real objects and interactives. Lots to do for all the family - try on uniforms (a great photo opportunity!) and experience night vision. Discover stories about Hannah Snell, a female soldier; and the Regimental mascot, Bobby the antelope. Find out about the Regiments famous sons, notably Field Marshals Montgomery and Slim. See displays about both World Wars. Look at the Bairnsfather cartoons, listen to veterans’ experiences of D-Day and marvel at the medals.
The museum is situated at St John's House in a 17th century Grade I listed house, which is regarded as one of the most important buildings in Warwick. The mediaeval Hospital of Saint John the Baptist was founded by the Earl of Warwick on the site around the year 1154. On the Dissolution of the Monasteries the land was passed to the Stoughton family. Between 1666 and 1670 Nathaniel Stoughton rebuilt the house very much as it is today. The two-storey house with attics for the servants has five distinctive bays; three ‘Dutch’ and two triangular gables. It is made from ‘Warwick stone’, the local sandstone. When it was new the house, with its grounds and gates, would have been very imposing, reflecting the importance of Nathaniel Stoughton. In 1791 it became a private school and later, during the 20th century, was taken into use as a military record office; it has been a museum since 1961.
Museum closed, but still open for business
The Museum is currently closed for a re-location within Warwick, but we are still open to deal with shop sales and family history research enquiries.
Join us for a Sudan-themed event on Saturday 11th September from 11am to 3pm at the Museum and then a Zoom talk on Wednesday 15th September at 7pm.
Exciting developments are afoot to re-locate the museum in 2022 to Pageant House, Jury Street, Warwick.
We also have a brand new Museum logo!
Read the full article >
Museum acquires nationally significant memorial plaque
The museum is really pleased to say that it has been very lucky to acquire a nationally important First World War memorial plaque to Lieutenant Euan Lucie-Smith.
The plaque rewrites World War 1 history.
Read the full article >